The Mathews Medal

Modeled after the Watauga Medal, the Mathews Medal is the highest non-academic distinction awarded to students.

The award is named after Walter J. Mathews, the first student enrolled at the NC College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts in 1889. After graduation, Mathews became a dedicated, devoted and involved alumnus. When the Alumni Association Student Ambassadors launched this special student recognition, they decided that Walter Mathews embodied the ideals of the award. They also modeled the Mathews Medals after the Watauga Medal, an honor established by the NC State Board of Trustees and given annually at the Founders Day Dinner to honor those who make significant contributions to the advancement of the university.

The medal is awarded to seniors who have made significant contributions based on leadership and service. Each has created a lasting legacy that leaves NC State a better place because of their leadership.

2013-14 Mathews Medalists

Lauren Caddick of Gastonia, N.C.
From fashion design to theater to documentary production, Lauren Caddick brims with creative talent. Lauren, a Park Scholar, presented her own clothing collection in NC State’s Art2Wear before taking over the role of the show’s director in 2013. She retooled the show’s structure, “Creating the most diverse and inclusive and collaborative Art2Wear in its 12-year history, says assistant professor Kathleen Rieder. With a passion for University Theater, Lauren has been scene designer, projection designer, assistant stage manager and actor in productions. She also created a feature-length documentary, “Where the Winds of Dixie Blow,” for NC State’s music department. Because of her heavy involvement in the arts, Lauren was chosen as the student representative for ARTS NC State on the Student Centers Board of Directors and on the Friends of ARTS NC State Board of Advisors. Vice Provost Alex Miller says Lauren “has contributed immensely to the richness and diversity of cultural opportunities available at NC State and helped to shape the cultural canvas of our campus.”

Caroline Hansley of Hillsborough, N.C.

Coming to NC State as a junior, Caroline Hansley became the first transfer student ever admitted to the University Honors Program. With a passion for sustainability, Caroline began to create change almost the minute she stepped on campus. In nine months, she developed a Green Ambassadors program so that students could have a voice in sustainable practices. Caroline led the movement to create a Sustainability Fund, including creating a board to ensure that the Sustainability Fund remains “sustainable” after she graduates. And Caroline helped establish a purchasing policy that prohibited campus paper purchases from companies involved in unethical deforestation practices. Last year, Caroline was named an Udall Scholar, one of only 50 students selected from a pool of 600. Tiffany Kershner, coordinator of Distinguished Scholarships and Fellowships, says Caroline “has an amazing ability to organize at the grassroots level and to communicate complex economic and energy proposals to the student population.”

Russel W. Mau of Cullowhee, N.C.
Russell Warren Mau, a Park Scholar, served as a 2013 co-chair of the Krispy Kreme Challenge, attracting more than 8,000 runners and raising $184,000 for the North Carolina Children’s Hospital. Named the “Leader of the Pack” in 2012, Russell has served as a chancellor’s aide and student senator, chairing the Student Senate Tuition and Fees Committee. As the leader of this committee, Russell was able to craft and shepherd a set of student fee recommendations endorsed by the Student Senate and accepted by the University Committee with no modifications. In the spring of 2014, Russel was elected student body president. Vice Chancellor Mike Mullen says Russell is “an exceptional student with a passion for improving the university and enhancing the student experience through effective student leadership.” Russell has accomplished all of this while completing his BS in economics and simultaneously pursuing his master’s degree. 

Alycia McLamb of Clinton, N.C.
For Alycia McLamb, leadership and service come naturally. Alycia has been an active member of the Future Farmers of America since high school, honing her leadership, communication and teamwork skills. As a freshman at NC State, she became vice-president of North Carolina FFA and spent a year developing and delivering leadership workshops and motivational speeches to more than 10,000 members statewide. In the same year, Alycia became a founding member of NC State’s chapter of Kappa Delta sorority. She served as the first chapter secretary and then its vice president of operations, providing leadership training for the chapter’s officers. In other campus activities, Alycia served on the Student Centers Board of Directors and as a member of the Agriculture Education Club, the General Shelton Leadership Scholar Program and the NCSU Teaching Fellows. As an Alumni Association Student Ambassador, Alycia managed the 2013 Homecoming Entertainment Committee. Academic Advisor Mindy Sopher and Dr. Jackie Bruce “attest to the skills, character, intellect, leadership, grace and humility all embodied in Alycia McLamb.” 

The Mathews Medal program is administered by the Alumni Association Student Ambassadors Program. View list of past recipients »