Modeled after the Watauga Medal, the Mathews Medal is the highest non-academic distinction awarded to students.

The award is named after Walter J. Mathews, the first student enrolled at the NC College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts in 1889. It recognizes seniors who have made significant contributions based on leadership and service.

2012-13 Mathews Medalists

Mary Charles Hale of Morehead City, N.C.
Hale, a Park Scholar majoring in English, served as a Service Leadership Team committee member for the Center for Student Leadership, Ethics, and Public Service. She led a service trip to the Dominican Republic as a junior and directed NC State’s 125th anniversary homecoming celebration, the largest student-led homecoming in the country.

Josh Andrew Privette of Wendell, N.C.

Privette, who is majoring in political science, was transportation and campus safety chair in his time serving the Alumni Association Student Ambassador Program. He also represented student interests in his time serving on the Physical Environment Standing committee, streamlining access to campus departments for students.

Emily Tucker of Gaithersburg, Md.
Tucker, a Park Scholar majoring in industrial engineering, served on the University Affairs committee as a student senator and founded the Reusable Regatta, a raft race to on Lake Raleigh to promote campus sustainability. She also chaired the Krispy Kreme Challenge and served as president of the Institute of Industrial Engineers.

Andy Walsh of Pittsboro, N.C.
Walsh, who is majoring in political science, served as student body president. He was a member of Phi Beta Kappa and served in the Alumni Association Student Ambassador Program, where he implemented the University’s Tradition Keepers program, known as The Brick. He also oversaw the Coaches’ Corner project aimed at celebrating NC State’s most beloved coaches.

The Mathews Medal program is administered by the Alumni Association Student Ambassadors Program. View list of past recipients »