Each year, the Alumni Association celebrates the winners of the College Distinguished Alumni Awards, the Wolfpack Club's Ronnie Shavlik Award and the Alumni Association Awards at the Evening of Stars Gala. It is an elegant celebration of a tradition that stretches back to the early 1940s when the Alumni Association began recognizing noteworthy graduates. Through the years, the colleges and the Wolfpack Club joined in the recognition as the abundance of extraordinary alumni grew and the need to acknowledge those who excelled in specific fields increased. Those who have been honored in previous years have enriched NC State’s history and increased the value of an NC State degree. Past recipients have left indelible marks on the history of our university, our state, our nation and our world. They include: William Friday, Gov. James B. Hunt Jr., Roy Park, John Caldwell, Katharine Stinson, Jim and Ann Goodnight, Ed Woolard, Gen. Hugh Shelton, Smedes York, Gov. Bob Scott, Burley Mitchell, Phil Freelon, Jeff Williams, Jerry Punch, Bill Cowher, Jim Valvano, Kay Yow and many more.

2017 Award Recipients